Using Vintage Pieces in Halloween Costumes

picmonkey-image

Obviously, thrift stores are goldmines for Halloween costumes, but costumey isn’t necessarily what I’m looking for when I’m buying. So every year around this time, it’s fun to look at my inventory and see what kind of Halloween costumes I can come up with where I incorporate at least one piece from my shop into each costume.  The possibilities are endless, and I love laying it all out on Polyvore. I had to give myself until the end of September to come up with these, or I would never stop!

The Brady Bunch

Great group costume that involves men and women – not that it matters – the Greg costume I’ve laid out is all ladies clothing. Super versatile, and you can pair just one vintage piece with things you currently own and still look groovy!

tops are available in my Etsy shop:

Greg Brady (top available in my Etsy shop):

Greg Brady for a Woman

 

Carol Brady (top available in my Etsy shop):

Carol Brady

 

Marcia Brady (top available in my Etsy shop):

Marsha Brady

 

 

Fresh Prince of Bell Air

If your group wants to do a 1990’s theme, Fresh Prince is one of my favorites. Pretty much every family member has their own unique style, so it’s easy to differentiate between the characters!

Will Smith (top available in my Etsy shop):

Fresh Prince

 

Carlton Banks (oxford shirt available in my Etsy shop):

Carlton

 

Ashley Banks (top available in my Etsy shop):

Ashley Banks

 

Hilary Banks (top available in my Etsy shop):

Hilary Banks

 

Uncle Phil (crew neck sweater available in my Etsy shop):

Uncle Phil

 

Sorry, Aunt Viv! Maybe next time?

Freaks and Geeks

Maybe the least obvious for people to guess what you are, but maybe my favorite of the group ideas.

Lindsay Weir (gray top available in my Etsy shop):

Freaks and Geeks Lindsay

 

 Daniel Desario (t-shirt available in my Etsy shop)

Freaks and Geeks Daniel

 

 Nick Andopolis (t-shirt available in my Etsy shop):

Freaks and Geeks Nick

 

Sam Weir (sweatshirt available in my Etsy shop):

Freaks and Geeks Sam

 

Now for the loners or those who don’t want to commit to a group costume.

Notorious BIG

(sweater available in my Etsy shop)

Another idea for the Cosby sweaters you have lying around if you feel the obvious is inappropriate.

Biggie

 

 

MC Hammer

(jacket available in my Etsy shop)

If you have a giant blonde flat top, this could also work for Vanilla Ice.

 

M.C. Hammer

 

Thelma & Louise

(denim knotted tank top available in my Etsy shop)

I didn’t have any inventory to go into the Louise portion, but I couldn’t leave Thelma hanging without her bosom buddy. This is one of my dream costumes, but nobody ever wants to do it with me! SOMEDAY!

Thelma & Louise

 

So even if you don’t buy any of the vintage pieces from my shop, you can find stuff to make all these costumes at thrift shops. You just have to be willing to do some digging!
Have you used vintage pieces for your costumes in the past? Tell me about it in the comments or tag us in a on Instagram @theblockvintage!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

